Karlspreis Europa Summit 2020

13.11.2020 Aachen

Register now!
0 days to go
November 13, 2020
Duration: 1 Day

09:00 - 09:10

Words of Welcome

Prof. Dr. Thomas Prefi, Chairman of the Charlemagne Prize Foundation
Dr. Jürgen Linden, Chairman of the Board of Directors

09:15 - 10:10

PANEL: Europe’s Economy Post-COVID: A Crisis of European Solidarity?

KEYNOTE 09:15 – 09:30 | DISCUSSION 09:30 – 10:00 | VIRTUAL Q&A 10:00 - 10:10

The German Constitutional Court’s PSPP ruling has reignited the debate regarding the EU’s financial emergency instruments and the underlying question of solidarity between Member States. In the midst of this discussion, the European Commission proposed and the European Council later adopted “Next Generation EU” – a programme of loans and grants for Member States financed by shared EU debt. This demonstrates an unprecedented level of European solidarity. Some Member States, however, have expressed concerns regarding the lack of control of how the money is spent. Can the Union implement a conditionality and control mechanism to solve this problem? How can the right balance between solidarity and accountability be struck? And does “Next Generation EU” have the potential to change the sense of solidarity in the EU in the long term?

Christos Staikouras, Greek Minister of Finance


Moderation: Hans-Jürgen Moritz, Focus Online

Marija Kolak, President of the National Association of German Cooperative Banks (BVR)
Prof. Dr. Hans-Werner Sinn, German Economist, Former President of the Institute for Economic Research (ifo)
Chevalier Yves Noël, Chairman of the Board of Directors of NMC S.A.
Rolf-Dieter Krause, German Television Journalist and Former Head of the ARD Studio in Brussel


10:15 - 10:30


10:30 - 11:00

PRESENTATION: Pitching the Final Research Results

Charlemagne Prize Fellows 2020/21

Prof. Dr. Federico Fabbrini, Full Professor of European Law at the School of Law & Government of DCU and Principal of the DCU Brexit Institute
‘The Conference on the Future of Europe: A New Model to Reform the EU?’

Marie Walter-Franke, PhD Candidate at the Otto-Suhr Institute of Political Science, Berlin and
Research Fellow at the Jacques Delors Centre at the Hertie School, Berlin
'Less policing, more policies. A “fresh” design for the EU’s asylum system'

Dr. María Victoria-Mas, Assistant Professor of Journalism at the Universitat Internacional de Catalunya
'Misinformation about the COVID-19 Crisis: Learnings to build democratic resilience in the EU'

Georgia Petropoulou, M.A. Graduate International Relations and Security
‘Proposing a Connectivity Strategy towards the EU Enlargement of the Western Balkans’

11:00 - 11:45


Public Discussion of the Research Results

11:50 - 11:53



11:53 - 12:00

Greetings - Live from Aachen

SIBYLLE KEUPEN, Lady Mayor of the City of Aachen
DR. JÜRGEN LINDEN, Chairman of the Charlemagne Prize Board of Directors 

12:00 - 12:50

PANEL: Overcoming Inner-European Discrepancies

KEYNOTE 12:00 – 12:15 | DISCUSSION 12:15 – 12:40 | VIRTUAL Q&A 12:40 - 12:50

2020 marks the 70th anniversary not only of the Schuman Declaration, one of the corner stones of European integration, but also the Karlspreis which is awarded to pioneers of this integration process. These anniversaries coincide with what is probably one of the most challenging periods in the history of European integration: a global pandemic with unprecedented economic, political and social consequences. However, it was particularly in such times of crisis that today’s Union was shaped. Which lessons for the current situation can be drawn from 70 years of European integration? How can we not only meet the challenges but transform
them into chances for the European Union? What institutional reforms will then be necessary?

Klaus Iohannis, President of Romania, Charlemagne Prize Laureate 2020

Moderation: Ralph Sina, EU Correspondent and Head of the WDR/NDR Radio Studio in Brussels

Prof. Dr. Luuk van Middelaar, Dutch Historian and Political Philosopher, Member of the Dutch Advisory Council on International Affairs

Viviane Reding, Luxembourgish Politician, Former EU Commissioner and MEP, Advisor for the Transatlantic Think-Tank European Horizons

13:00 - 13:30

13:35 - 13:50

Closing Remarks

Introducing the Charlemagne Prize Fellows 2020/21

14:00 - 17:00